At The End Of It…

At the end of it, what do you want to see? What do you want to gain? And what do you want to remember?

Is it something you will look back and be proud of? Or is it something you will be shy to talk about?

Is it something worth remembering or something you’ll want to forget?

At the end of your leadership, what do you want to achieve? What do you want to be remembered for? And what change would you want to bring?

These are the very same questions I ask myself every time I take on a leadership role, be it a project, a team or a term of office. Since young I’ve been taking on different projects and lead appointments. They range from being a Squad Leader, Squad Officer, a Council Chairperson, a Company Major, a Head Coach, a Head of Department to being a Lead Trainer, a President, a Mentor-Advisor and a Governor. Yet every single time, the same questions are being asked, examined and evaluated.

For these questions provide me a vision of my goals for my duration or term of leadership. I always start off shaping what I want to achieve and how I want to be remembered at the end of my term before I commence my first official meeting with my team.

This gives me a vision of clarity and a realistic plan of action. These questions also infuse me with excitment and enthusiasm that, direct or indirectly, channel as passion to the team members I work with. After all, a leader is also a motivator-inspirer.

As leaders, we are not without faults, I will be the first to admit this. We are not without blind-spots and biases and we are not immune to mistakes. But be it small steps of success or sudden stoning of stumbling blocks, these questions keep me going. They form my goals and strategies to get there, obstacles or not.

In short, they keep me focused.

For as leaders, if we are not focused then who else can be in better focus than us?

Then, what about our own life?

At the end of our life, will we look back and be proud of ourselves or is ours a life we’ll rather forget?

For just as we perform as leaders of a project, aren’t we also leaders of our own life… like a major project?

Do we keep our vision clear and focused or do we get sidetracked and fall wayward?

It’s a series of questions that we can think about, both as a leader of a project and as a captain of our own life.

At the end of it, what do you want to see? What do you want to gain? and what do you want to remember?

Explore posts in the same categories: Excel Beyond Excellence, Leadership Essentials, Living Life, Management, Passion, Perspectives, Reflection and Thoughts, Teamwork Tactics, Working Wellness

Leave a Reply

