Insights Through The Artists’ Sights

Before I started schooling in nursery, I’ve always been drawing, sketching and doodling. Through the Art Elective Program in my secondary school, I studied about the life and works of various artists. And since then, I am even more interested in their works and their thoughts.

They apparently had an unique way of looking at life. They may not always agree with each other or with the world and times they live in. But there’s always value in exploring their thoughts, which in turn gives us insights into other perspectives.

I invite you to read through what they said and enter their world. Then we can begin to contemplate a whole new universe of sensational discovery and wonder.

Michelangelo (1475- 1564) Italian Sculptor and painter

The true work of art is but a shadow of the divine perfection.

If people knew how hard I worked to get my mastery, it wouldn’t seem so wonderful at all.

Pablo Picasso (1881 – 1973) Spanish Artist

Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone.

The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come from all over the place; from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider’s web.

Roy Lichtenstein (1923 – 1997) American pop artist

I think we’re much smarter than we were. Everybody knows that abstract art can be art, and most people know that they may not like it, even if they understand there’s another purpose to it.

Vincent van Gogh (1853 – 1890) Dutch expressionist painter

My opinion is that the best thing would be to work on till art lovers feel drawn toward it of their own accord, instead of having to praise or to explain it.

It is not the language of painters but the language of nature which one should listen to, the feeling for the things themselves, for reality, is more important than the feeling for pictures.

I tell you, the more I think, the more I feel that there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people.

The emotions are sometimes so strong that I work without knowing it. The strokes come like speech.

I want to touch people with my art. I want them to say ‘he feels deeply, he feels tenderly.’

Paul Gauguin 1848-1903 French Post-impressionist painter

I have tried to make everything breathe in this painting: belief, passive suffering, religious and primitive style, and the great nature with its scream.

In order to do something new we must go back to the source, to humanity in its infancy.

The flat sound of my wooden clogs on the cobblestones, deep, hollow and powerful, is the note I seek in my painting.

We never really know what stupidity is until we have experimented on ourselves.

Life is hardly more than a fraction of a second. Such a little time to prepare oneself for eternity!

Explore posts in the same categories: Comments and Quotes, Perspectives, Reflection and Thoughts

Leave a Reply

