A Twist Of Wit And Irony

When we look at life with a twist of irony, we discover a new paradigm. It is the ability to make sense of this perspective that give us further insights of life. From a more humorous and unique point, we call this… wit.

And there are the greats, who entertain us and impress us with their wit. Yet with every witty quote uttered, there is an irony behind. Some are satirical, some are meant to teach, others remain perceptive. The rest just aim to amuse.

In this article, I present to you some of their wittiness, often accompanied with an indication of the irony of life.

After all, who says living has to be so straightforward. Enjoy!

“Show me a sane man and I will cure him for you.” – C. G. Jung (1875-1961)

“To sit alone with my conscience will be judgment enough for me.” – Charles William Stubbs

“Speak the truth, but leave immediately after.” – Slovenian proverb

“If I were two-faced, would I be wearing this one?” – Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865)

“For there is nothing either good or bad, thinking makes it so.” – William Shakespeare (1564-1616), Hamlet, II.ii

“The longer I live the more I see that I am never wrong about anything, and that all the pains that I have so humbly taken to verify my notions have only wasted my time.” – George Bernard Shaw (1856-1950)

“The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.” – Oscar Wilde (1854-1900)

“You got to be careful if you don’t know where you’re going, because you might not get there.” – Yogi Berra (1925-)

“It usually takes a long time to find a shorter way.” – Anonymous

“I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it by not dying.” – Woody Allen (1935-)

“No pressure, no diamonds.” – Mary Case

“The fellow that agrees with everything you say is either a fool or he is getting ready to skin you.” – Kin Hubbard

“Don’t let people drive you crazy when you know it’s in walking distance.” – Anonymous

“Happiness is good health and a bad memory.” – Ingrid Bergman (1917-1982)

Explore posts in the same categories: Beliefs and Values, Comments and Quotes, Fun and Humour, Living Life, Perspectives, Reflection and Thoughts

Leave a Reply

