How To Tell A Captivating Story And Get Your Audience Listening?

When I conduct Public Speaking and Presentation talks and individual speech coaching, I get to hear the participants share and practice what they have learned. And from time to time, some of them present their speeches in a form of stories. The impactful storytellers will end up captivating the audience, getting them to listen, tune in and be on the edge of their seats.

What then can you do to present effective storytelling speeches? Here are some helpful pointers:

1. Develop a strong setting and background within your story.

2. Create the deepening plots at the most unexpected places.

3. Frame your story in the context of your audiences’ lives.

Explore posts in the same categories: Communication Competence, Perspectives, Presentation Dynamics, Public Speaking Success, Reflection and Thoughts

One Comment on “How To Tell A Captivating Story And Get Your Audience Listening?”


  1. I’ve tried to get my content as you have it here but what I later on got was copyright infringement so I decided not to make my content look so good. I felt bad, really and I have to make adjustments because in the internet, it is really very hard to make your content as captivating as it should be only to get plagiarized.


Leave a Reply

